top of page

Applied Talents

I started this blog originally because I felt I was wasting my talents by keeping them to myself. I felt that the world could only benefit from me believing that I could be as great as I have always assumed I was created to be. For a long time I did not see great writing skills as a God given talent or any kind of talent for that matter. I used to look at my friends and be able to see their best talents so clearly and down myself for not being good at what they were good at. I kept the "It's great that you can... but why can't I" attitude for most of my childhood; and when I was not putting myself down I searching for praise for everything that I could do.

I have not always been the amazing, uplifting, empowering, reassuring friend that I am now when I was younger. I was too caught up on thinking everyone around me was too good to be around me and stuck on feeling like I had to catch up and be great at everything. The friends that I have kept since then are the best friends I could have ever asked for and they are the reason I am the person I am today. Throughout my personal journey with self love and confidence I have come to realize that we are all great at something. We are all important just for being us. We are already the people we want to grow to become; we just have to apply ourselves.

Most people have not even found their own talents because they are so focused on other people's talents. We take so much away from ourselves trying to fit into social norms and be good at everything that everyone thinks we should be good at and be interested in all the things people think we should be interested in. As a young black female it can be hard to really be the person you know you are because of all the labels that come with being a black female. Some may feel like they can't be "too smart" because that was someone else's role. Some may feel like they can't be beautiful because that's what they say about some other girl that looks nothing like them. Some feel like they can't be talented because they don't possess the talents that they see most often.

We are often praised for things we do not think are important because they come naturally to us. But it is praised because it is good. Be good at being yourself. Be good at having interests. Be good at appreciating other people and their interests and talents. Be good at putting yourself first. Be good at seeking happiness and peace over social approval. Apply your goodness to the world and watch the world around you flourish with that energy. Watch the people you interact with change and move to new frequencies. Move to new frequencies. Be all of yourself. Be proud of the person you are. Be proud that the person you are is not any other person you know. Be proud that your talents, your insight, your perspectives and your thoughts are uniquely your own. You are custom made and tailored to perfection. The only person that can have your life and make your moves are you; and that is something to love and be proud of no matter where you are in life.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page