top of page

Down and Out?

We live in a world run by social media and unwanted opinions. We live in a world where everything we do means something to somebody we've never met in real life. Everyone is so caught up on the image they have and what people think of them that they tend to make that what they think of themselves.

This past month has been hard for me, personally. I have always been expected to be the person who is going to do great things, inspire people, give hope, and make moves; but I've barely left my house or talked to anyone. I feel like I can't inspire anything from where I'm sitting. Really early in August I received a call from my last university, saying I had a hold on my account for the one summer class I took. I thought it was covered by financial aid but it wasn't, and I am not able to move into a dorm room or attend classes until it's paid off.

I always associated school with success and success with how important a person was. ( I give everyone equal respect, but yes, I am judging everyone just like the rest of you.) Although I know for a fact that I will be going to school next semester, in the moment of the call I felt powerless. Some times, most of the time, I still do, but I'm working on it. For the first time I feel like I have nothing to lose and everything to gain just to be caught up with everyone else, and I know that is where I mess up.

Like most other people, I have to stop measuring my success with rulers held by everyone else. Today I am writing for the first time in a long time to prove to myself that I am not bound to my situation. The only time I can fail is when I don't try, and I failed the entire month of August. I have always loved the reaction I get when I do something positive like being appointed to SGA cabinet, or starting this blog, or making the dean's list first semester. I have measured my success and importance by how good I am at getting things done for so long that once I was not in full control of my situation I let everything else stop.

So to you I want to say, always be mindful of your character, always be mindful of your faith, and always be mindful of your talents. Be mindful of your character because when you're down you will need support. Be mindful of your faith because if your God is anything like mine, your faith will be strongest ally. Be mindful of your talents because being able is a blessing every way you look at it. You have to know that you are stronger than your situation and that your current state is temporary. Yes we live in a world run by social media, unwanted opinions, and unrealistic expectations; but everyone falls, so don't be ashamed of it. The only thing that matters is getting up, and you will.

For the month of September me and one of my friends will be doing this self love challenge she found online. I encourage everyone that reads this to do it with us! I know that what I'm going through is small for some people, and I try not to take that for granted. Whatever you are going through please understand that everyday you wake up is an opportunity for you to live your best life. Take it.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page